Love, Joy, Peace

May 19, 2008

Law School: No Fear Here :)

Filed under: Law School — by amourjoiepaix @ 2:08 pm
Tags: ,

This Fall, I will be starting law school at one of the most prestigious law schools in the country.  Since receiving my acceptance letter, I have been over the moon.  The idea of going back to school, allowing learning to consume my days, while studying and writing consume my nights is a very welcome one indeed.  What can I say?  I like school and I’m excited to learn to think like a lawyer.  In the midst of all my excitement, one question is constantly being asked, “Are you scared?”  The question does not particularly aggravate me, but the stares of disbelief I receive when answering, “No, I’m not scared, just REALLY excited,” are starting to grate my nerves. 

Applying to law school was not some hack-eyed last minute decision I made in an attempt to win over or find a man-or to avoid our really whacked economy.  I don’t see law school as some expensive, elitist vocational school-I know that it is integral to my calling.  Besides, I have prayed over my decision and God has granted me a sense of peace.  I know I’m doing the right thing, so why/how could I be afraid?  Granted, these individuals have no way of knowing all this, but I still find it disturbing that they somehow expect me to be afraid.  And while I doubt that the women-because only women have asked the question-who inquire about my “fear” are sexist, I cannot shake a few suspicions I have.

For one, if I were a young man who recently was accepted into his first-choice law school, how many people would ask if I was afraid?  In fact, when do strangers (or casual acquaintances) ever ask men if they are afraid-of anything?  Furthermore, would a young man be met with the same incredulous stares if he admitted he was not afraid of law school?  I doubt it. 

2 Comments »

  1. no one would ask if you were a young man. but because you are not – you must prove. it is a fact of life. cope and cope well. you are worth the end result. peace out.

    Comment by stephanie — May 31, 2008 @ 11:24 pm

  2. I agree that if you were a man then you wouldn’t be asking if you are scared. I posted a story about a douchebag who bombarded me with questions and urged me to become a nurse instead. It was ridiculous. I seriously believe that had I been male he wouldn’t have said anything.

    Comment by Kel — June 6, 2008 @ 3:04 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

